COOPERATIONS

FACE IT! Who do you want to be?

A cinematic intervention by Cyril Schäublin at the Ludwig Museum Koblenz Collection, curated by Katharina Arimont

5th April to 16th  June 2019

Still, Cyril Schäublin, "Le visage que tu mérites", short film, 2018, 4 Min, 1,77:1, 2018, film still,

© Cyril Schäublin/Le Manoir Art

"Face it! Who do you want to be" is an exhibition about the film "Le visage que tu mérites/The face you deserve" (2018) by the internationally successful film director Cyril Schäublin, who intervenes at Ludwig Museum Koblenz: Curated by art historian Katharina Arimont, the film, which  was supported by Le Manoir Art at the beginning of 2018, will be related to the works in the museum's collection. The new presentation takes up the main theme of the film and revolves around the human face as a mirror of one's own identity, often caught up in social conventions.

1/8

The face as a mirror 

The face is a mirror of our inner state. At the same time it can function as a masquerade that we adapt to the ideals of society. How we feel and how we show ourselves to the outside world is reflected in our face. Mirrors therefore have an enticing effect on us humans. A quick glance to check one's own image is often unconscious and at the same time a conscious routine. In the morning in the bathroom, while walking past a reflecting pane or in elevators with mirror walls. It is almost inevitable: we are constantly confronted with our image. What moves and triggers in us? - questions like these are the starting point of the exhibition which revolves around ideas about who we are, who we can be, and how our own face and the faces of others confront us every day with these kind of questions. 

 

How we live our lives and the way life leaves traces on our face - this is the question Cyril Schäublin addresses in his short film "Le visage que tu mérites“: In an elevator with a mirrored wall, we see people of different ages, their faces in close-up. Strangers stand anonymously but physically close to each other. For a short moment they are alone with themselves, their thoughts and their reflection. We see restless glances that occasionally dare to take a look at their own reflection. Thus a young woman looks at her image in a charming and enraptured way, an older woman looks stealthily into the mirror, as if she fears to become aware of something: the transience of her own life.

Our appearance and our character are determined on the one hand by our genes and on the other hand by the context in which we live in. In his film Cyril Schäublin refers to an aphorism by Coco Chanel: "Nature gives you the face you have at 20. Life shapes the face you have at 30. But at 50, you have the face you deserve." 

 

The aspects raised by "Le visage que tu mérites" find their references in works of art from the collection of the Ludwig Museum Koblenz that are dedicated to inner, psychological processes and play with external social needs and human desires.

 

In the midst of these two opposing positions, the exhibition shows another film by Cyril Schäublin, "My Brother, the Raven" (2008), which is thematically dedicated to the process of change of the natural primeval man. To him vanities were alien, but when he entered society he experienced a change. In addition the video work “Soul in the Hole“ (2018) by Ilya Pusenkoff (*1983), which directly involves the viewer through its interactive character, is displaced.​

Cyril Schäublin, "Le visage que tu mérites", short film, 2018, 4 min, 1,77:1, 2018, film still,

© Cyril Schäublin/Le Manoir Art

View of Lisa Rudigier's work "Attempts to speak" (1994), detail © Ludwig Museum Koblenz, photo: Aleksandra Cieślewicz

Ilya Pusenkoff, "Soul in the Hole“, 2018, interactive video sculpture

© Ilya Pusenkoff

Cyril Schäublin, "Le visage que tu mérites", short film, 2018, 4 min, 1,77:1, 2018, film still, © Cyril Schäublin/Le Manoir Art

View of the exhibition "Face it! Who do you want to be?", work "My Brother the Raven, 2008, short film by Cyril Schäublin © Le Manoir Art/ Ludwig Museum Koblenz, photo: Aleksandra Cieślewicz

Ilya Pusenkoff in front of his video instalation "Soul in the Hole" (2018) ©  Ludwig Museum Koblenz, photo: Aleksandra Cieślewicz

Text design © Christian von der Heide 

SWR report on the exhibition from 04/10/2019,

Go to video at Ard Media Library.

"Face it! Who do you want to be?"

was realized in cooperation with:

KOOPERATIONEN

FACE IT! Wer willst Du sein?

Eine filmische Intervention von Cyril Schäublin in der Sammlung Ludwig Museum Koblenz , kuratiert von Katharina Arimont

5. April bis 16. Juni 2019

Filmstill, Cyril Schäublin, "Le visage que tu mérites", Kurzfilm, 2018, 4 Min, 1,77:1, 2018, Filmstill,

© Cyril Schäublin/Le Manoir Art

"Face it! Wer willst du sein?" ist eine Ausstellung rund um den Film „Le visage que tu mérites/ Das Gesicht, das Du verdienst" (2018) des international erfolgreichen Regisseurs Cyril Schäublin, der im Ludwig Museum Koblenz interveniert: Kuratiert von Kunsthistorikerin Katharina Arimont wird der Film, dessen Realisierung Anfang 2018 von Le Manoir Art gefördert wurde, mit den Werken der Sammlung des Museums in Bezug gesetzt. Die neue Präsentation greift das Hauptthema des Films auf und dreht sich um das menschliche Gesicht als Spiegel der eigenen Identität, oftmals gefangen in gesellschaftlichen Konventionen. (Zum Ausstellungsflyer als pdf)

1/8

Das Gesicht als Spiegel 

Das Gesicht ist ein Spiegel der inneren Befindlichkeit und kann zugleich eine

Maske sein, die wir den Idealen der Gesellschaft anpassen. Wie es uns geht und wie wir uns nach außen hin zeigen, spiegelt sich in unserem Gesicht wider. Spiegel haben daher eine verlockende Wirkung auf uns Menschen. Ein schneller Blick, um das eigene Abbild zu prüfen, geschieht häufig unbewusst und ist zugleich bewusste Routine. Morgens im Bad, beim Vorbeilaufen an einer reflektierenden Scheibe oder in Aufzügen mit Spiegelwänden. Es ist fast unumgänglich: Wir sind ständig mit unserem Abbild konfrontiert. Was uns dazu bewegt und was dies ins uns auslöst - an diesem Punkt setzt die Ausstellung an und dreht sich darum, wer man ist, wer man sein kann und wie uns unser eigenes Gesicht und das Gesicht anderer tagtäglich mit diesen Fragen konfrontiert, denen wir uns stellen müssen. 

 

Wie wir unser Leben leben und wie das Leben unsere Gesichter zeichnet - dieser Frage widmet sich Cyril Schäublin in seinem Film „Le visage que tu mérites“: Schäublin filmt Menschen unterschiedlichen Alters in einem Aufzug mit verspiegelter Wand und zeigt ihre Gesichter in Nahaufnahme. Fremde Menschen stehen anonym und zugleich körperlich nah nebeneinander und sind für einen kurzen Moment mit sich, ihren Gedanken und ihrem Spiegelbild alleine. Wir sehen Blicke, die nicht wissen, wo sie ruhen sollen und die ab und zu der Verlockung erliegen, im Spiegel einen Blick auf das eigene Abbild zu werfen. So schaut eine junge Frau charmant verzückt ihr Spiegelbild an, eine ältere Frau wagt verstohlen den Blick in den Spiegel, als ob sie fürchtet, gewahr zu werden, was sie erkennt: Die Vergänglichkeit des eigenen Lebens.

Unser Aussehen und unser Charakter werden zum einen durch unsere Gene bestimmt, zum anderen hat auch der Kontext, in dem wir leben, darauf großen Einfluss. Cyril Schäublin bezieht sich in seinem Film auf einen Aphorismus von Coco Chanel: „Die Natur gibt dir das Gesicht, das Sie mit 20 haben. Das Leben formt das Gesicht, das Sie mit 30 haben. Aber mit 50 hast Du das Gesicht, das Du verdienst.“ 

 

Die Aspekte, die „Le visage que tu mérites“ aufwirft, finden ihre Bezüge in Kunstwerken aus der Sammlung des Ludwig Museum Koblenz, die sich inneren, psychischen Vorgängen widmen und Werken, die mit äußeren gesellschaftlichen Bedürfnissen und Begehrlichkeiten spielen.

 

Inmitten dieser zwei gegensätzlichen Positionen zeigt die Ausstellung einen weiteren Film von Cyril Schäublin „My Brother, the Raven/ Mein Bruder der Rabe" (2008), der sich thematisch dem Wandlungsprozess des natürlichen Urmenschen widmet, dem Eitelkeiten fremd sind, der aber beim Eintritt in die Gesellschaft eine Veränderung erfährt sowie die Videoarbeit Soul in the Hole (2018) von Ilya Pusenkoff (*1983), die durch ihren interaktiven Charakter den Betrachter unmittelbar einbezieht. 

Mehr über die Ausstellung und über die einzelnen Werke finden Sie in den Wandtexten.

Cyril Schäublin, "Le visage que tu mérites", Kurzfilm, 2018, 4 Min, 1,77:1, 2018, Filmstill, © Cyril Schäublin/Le Manoir Art

Werkansicht Lisa Rudigier  „Sprechversuche“ (1994), Detail © Ludwig Museum Koblenz, Foto: Aleksandra Cieślewicz

Ilya Pusenkoff, "Soul in the Hole“, 2018 , interaktive Videoskulptur 

© Ilya Pusenkoff

Cyril Schäublin "Le visage que tu mérites", Kurzfilm,4 Min, 1,77:1, 2018, Filmstill, © Cyril Schäublin/Le Manoir Art

Ansicht der Ausstellung „Face it! Wer willst Du sein?“, Werk „Le visage que tu mérites“, Kurzfilm von Cyril Schäublin ©  Le Manoir Art/ Ludwig Museum Koblenz, Foto: Aleksandra Cieślewicz

Ilya Pusenkoff vor seiner Videoinstallation "Soul in the Hole" (2018) ©  Ludwig Museum Koblenz, Foto: Aleksandra Cieślewicz

Textdesign © Christian von der Heide 

SWR aktuell Bericht über die Ausstellung vom 10.04.2019,

zum Video in der Ard Mediathek.

"Face it! Wer willst Du sein?"

entstand in Kooperation mit: