FILM FUNDING

LE VISAGE QUE TU MÉRITES

Cyril Schäublin

2018

Filmstill, Cyril Schäublin, "Le visage tue tu mérites", short film, 2018, 4 Min, 1,77:1, 2018, film still,

© Cyril Schäublin/Le Manoir Art

How do we live our lives, and how does life leaves traces on our face? In an elevator of a large metro station a mirror is installed. Passengers switch between the different platforms. For a fleeting moment they are alone with themselves and their reflection. In this short film Cyril Schäublin refers to a quote by Coco Chanel: "La nature vous donne le visage que vous avez à vingt ans. La vie façonne le visage que vous avez à trente ans. Corn à cinquante to do as the visage que tu mérites." - Nature gives you the face you have at twenty. Life shapes the face you have at thirty. But at fifty you have the face that you deserve.“ 

The film is owned by Le Manoir Art and can be seen in the context of museum exhibition projects, currently at Ludwig Museum Koblenz, in the context of the exhibition "Face it! Who do you want to be?", until 16th June 2019. 

1/4

Cyril Schäublin, "Le visage tue tu mérites", short film, 4 Min, 2018, still, © Cyril Schäublin/Le Manoir Art

Cyril Schäublin (born 1984 in Zurich) studied film in Beijing, Paris and Berlin. His short films have been shown and awarded at numerous international film festivals and presented in art centres and museums, including the Palais de Tokyo in Paris, the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) in New York and the Kunsthaus Graz. His first feature-length film "Dene wos guet geit" premiered in Locarno in 2017, was shown in Sao Paolo, Rotterdam and at many other film festivals. In addition it was nominated for the European Film Prize and won the prize for the best international feature film at the 72nd Edinburgh International Film Festival. Cyril Schäublin lives and works in Zurich and Berlin.

FÖRDERUNG

LE VISAGE QUE TU MÉRITES

Cyril Schäublin

2018

Filmstill, Cyril Schäublin, "Le visage tue tu mérites", Kurzfilm, 2018, 4 Min, 1,77:1, 2018, Filmstill,

© Cyril Schäublin/Le Manoir Art

Wie leben wir unser Leben, und wie zeichnet das Leben unsere Gesichter? Im Aufzug einer großen Metrostation ist ein Spiegel angebracht. Passagiere wechseln zwischen den verschiedenen Plattformen. Für einen flüchtigen Moment sind sie mit sich und ihrem Spiegelbild alleingestellt. Cyril Schäublin bezieht sich auf ein Zitat von Coco Chanel: "La nature vous donne le visage que vous avez à vingt ans. La vie façonne le visage que vous avez à trente ans. Mais à cinquante ans tu as le visage que tu mérites." - "Die Natur gibt Ihnen das Gesicht, das Sie mit zwanzig haben. Das Leben formt das Gesicht, das Sie mit dreißig haben. Aber fünfzig hast Du das Gesicht, das Du verdienst". 

Der Film befindet sich im Besitz von Le Manoir Art und ist im Rahmen von musealen Ausstellungsprojekten zu sehen, aktuell im Ludwig Museum Koblenz, im Rahmen der Ausstellung "Face it! Wer willst Du sein?", noch bis zum 16. Juni 2019. 

1/4

Cyril Schäublin, "Le visage tue tu mérites", Kurzfilm, 4 Min, 2018, Filmstill, © Cyril Schäublin/Le Manoir Art

Cyril Schäublin (geb. 1984 in Zürich) studierte Film in Peking, Paris und Berlin. Seine Kurzfilme wurden auf zahlreichen internationalen Filmfestivals gezeigt und ausgezeichnet sowie in Kunstzentren und Museen präsentiert, unter anderem im Palais de Tokyo in Paris, dem Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) in New York und im Kunsthaus Graz. Sein erster Langfilm «Dene wos guet geit» hatte 2017 Premiere in Locarno, war in Sao Paolo, Rotterdam und auf vielen anderen Filmfestivals zu sehen, wurde für den Europäischen Filmpreis nominiert und gewann den Preis des besten internationalen Spielfilms beim 72. Edinburgh International Film Festival. Cyril Schäublin lebt und arbeitet in Zürich und Berlin.